I’ve never been crazy about the whole “angel” phenomena. The idea of angels surrounding me for protection and guidance just never resonated with me – I’ve always felt more comfortable sensing the presence of one of my spirit animals, a giant black panther.

But still. The other day, I was at the local thrift shop during their twice-annual bag sale. I figured I would stock up on new clothes for my 9-year-old, who seems to outgrow jeans faster than I can buy them. I was at the checkout when my eye fell on a board full of necklaces, and in particular, a tiny round gold pendant. I leaned in to get a good look at it, and saw that it was embossed with the image of one of the little bored angels from Raphael’s painting, Sistine Madonna.

Something about that sweet image made me feel as if this was my guardian angel looking out for me. So what the heck, for a buck fifty, I added it to my pile and took it home where I smudged it and Reiki’d it.

I did a little digging to find out more about these bored little angels, and discovered that they were probably added to the painting as an afterthought, and that they were most likely based on the sons of the woman who modeled as the Madonna in the painting. The two boys must have been bored out of their wits hanging around the church all day, waiting for their mother to be finished so they could go home for dinner, and Raphael, with his sense of humor, decided to include them in his work.

Because I don’t believe in coincidences, I know that this little angel was meant for me. I found it at the right time and in the right place. Who knows? Maybe my little guardian angel showed up here to help me through this part of my journey…

 

