The Chakras were one of those things that I knew in my heart before I knew in my head. What are the chakras? They are energy centers located in the body that help circulate the subtle flow of energy through the physical body. Most ancient systems of healing had some knowledge of the chakras – you can find them in traditional Chinese medicine, Ayurveda, and other ancient esoteric healing traditions.

My first formal instruction on the chakras came during my 200 hour yoga teacher training. It was fascinating – it was another one of those instances where, for the first time, I had words to describe what I had felt for most of my life. Most of us are aware of the chakras in our body, but we don’t give them much conscious thought. In recent years, thought leaders and modern mystics like Anodea Judith and Caroline Myss have explored the chakras and brought this wisdom to a wider audience so that we can learn how to work with and access this energy for self healing.

There are literally thousands of chakras in the body, including in the palms of the hands and the soles of the feet that are activated during acupressure and reflexology treatments. But for now, we’re going to look at just the 7 main chakras in the torso of the body that are located right where there are major organ systems.

Root Chakra: Muladhara


The root chakra is located at the base of the spine, right near the tailbone. This energy center is related to our sense of belonging, where we fit in with the rest of our social “tribe”, and deals with issues of basic survival. The color of this chakra is a deep red.

Sacral Chakra: Svadisthana


The sacral chakra is located in the low belly, right around the navel. It is the energy that deals with issues of creativity, sexuality, and pleasure. The color of this chakra is a deep orange.

Solar Plexus Chakra: Manipura


This chakra is located right in the solar plexus at the base of the sternum. It is the energy around our digestive organs and deals with issues of self-esteem, personal power, and transformation. The color of this chakra is a bright golden yellow.

Heart Chakra: Anahata


This chakra is located at the heart center, right at the place of the physical heart in the body. The heart chakra deals with the energy of love – self-love, where we learn to love ourselves and find that Bhakti or spiritual devotion to one another. The color of this chakra is a glowing, grass green.

Throat Chakra: Vishudda


This chakra is located at the base of the throat. It governs our ability to communicate through speech and voice, and also is the seat of our willpower and how we express ourselves. The color of this chakra is a bright sky or azure blue.

Third Eye Chakra: Ajna


This chakra is located between the eyes, right around the location of the pineal gland in the brain. This is the seat of our intuition, our inner knowing. The color of this energy is deep, midnight or indigo blue.

Crown Chakra: Sahasrara


This chakra is located at the top of the head, and extends out of the physical body and into the space just above the head. This is our spiritual energy center, where we can connect with the higher Self. The color of this chakra is a bright, intense violet purple.

So you can see that when functioning well, these energy centers can have some pretty powerful effects on the body.

But what does any of this have to do with Tarot?

Well, in the coming weeks, I’ll be showing you how to use your Tarot cards to assess and balance the energy in each of these chakras. Sound good? Watch for a self-guided online course about Tarot and the chakras coming this spring, too! Woot woot!